Skip to Content

Best Essential Oils To Balance Your Chakras

Essential oils are highly concentrated versions of the natural oils found in plants.

For instance, it takes 60,000 roses (about 180 lb) to make just one ounce ( 29.57 ml) of rose otto oil. Also, a single drop of peppermint essential oil is equivalent to 28 cups of peppermint tea.

Many traditional medicines from around the world have recognized the healing properties of essential oils for generations.

Essential oils can be used as anesthetic, antirheumatic, decongestant, antispasmodic, carminative, and antidepressant agents.

They can also be used for chakra healing.

READ MORE: 15 Indoor Plants That Create Positive Energy In Your Home

Here Are The Best Essential Oils To Balance Your 7 Chakras:


It is located at the base of the spine and is associated with the color red. Known as Muladhara Chakra in the Eastern tradition, it aids movement, survival, and self-esteem.

Moreover, it helps to keep the energy of the body connected with earthly energies. Your fight or flight response is initiated from the Muladhara chakra, and it is frequently associated with survival. This chakra is also the origin of one’s desires. For this reason, this energy center is where ideas start to take form and become a reality.

The root chakra is associated with the solid, practical elements of life as well as with the earth and with grounding.

Physically, this chakra is associated with problems in the colon, with elimination, with the bladder, or with lower back, leg, or feet problems. Emotionally, an imbalanced Muladhara chakra will trigger feelings of insecurities, abandonment, loneliness, depression, instability, and disconnection.

Essential oils – patchouli, birch, cedar, frankincense, sandalwood, cypress, vetiver, clove, and myrrh.

Note – balancing the Muladhara chakra creates a solid foundation for opening the chakras above. 

READ MORE: 20 Spiritually Inclined Celebrities

#2 Sacral ChakraSacral Chakra facts

The sacral chakra resides just below the navel and is associated with sexuality, commitment, creativity, sensitivity, and passion. It also plays a part in our feelings. The chakra is associated with the element of water and is symbolized with orange-reddish color.

A balanced sacral chakra allows us to form intimate relationships, express our creativity, and pursue our passions. An imbalanced second chakra can lead to many disturbances, including stifled creativity, commitment issues, lack of confidence, lack of drive, back pain, depression, and urinary/reproductive problems.

Essential oils – ylang-ylang, sandalwood, fennel, ginger, rose, and jasmine.

READ MORE: 14 Signs You’re An Old Soul

#3 Solar Plexus ChakraSolar Plexus Chakra facts

It is located in the stomach, between the base of the navel and the sternum. Solar plexus chakra is represented by the color yellow, representing this energy vortex and its connection with fire, energy, and strong emotions.

A healthy third chakra will manifest as a brilliant expression of personal power accompanied by clear perceptions of life situations and balanced energy flow.

When your solar plexus chakra is balanced, you may feel outgoing, have self-respect, be cheerful, enjoy taking on new challenges, be expressive, and have a strong sense of personal power.

When there is an imbalance in your solar plexus chakra, you can feel melancholic and sad. Also, you can feel depressed and very emotional.

Physical problems caused by a blocked third chakra may include liver problems, diabetes, digestive difficulties, food allergies, and nervous exhaustion.

Essential oils – lavender oil, marjoram, cinnamon, rosemary, juniper, chamomile, mint, and lemon.

READ MORE: 10 Signs You Need To Clear Negative Energy From Yourself

#4 Heart ChakraHeart Chakra FACTS

The Anahata chakra is the 4th in our system, whose element is air and its color is green. The organs associated with the heart chakra are the lungs, arms, hands, heart, and thymus (a primary lymphoid organ of the immune system), and lymph glands.

The heart chakra can be seen as a connector or bridge between our psychic, spiritual, and physical selves. It is the energy center from which we radiate joy, happiness, love, and compassion.

Blockage in the Anahata chakra manifests itself as lung and heart problems, immune system disorders, or lack of compassion.

If your Anahata chakra needs opening, you should try to practice more gratitude.

Essential oils – rose, geranium, lavender, and jasmine.

READ MORE: Affirmations To Clean Your 7 Chakras

#5 Throat ChakraThroat Chakra FACTS

The fifth chakra is in the cervical plexus behind the throat and impacts the ears, throat, and hearing. The Visshuda chakra is properly developed in the body between the ages of 7 and 12, making it important to allow children to form their own opinions, be heard, and express themselves in a positive and loving environment.

When your throat chakra is working as it should, you are a good communicator who can hold any crowd’s attention, you can speak your truth without fear, and you become better at listening to others without judgment.

When the fifth chakra is overactive, you will find that you cannot articulate your thoughts clearly, leading to frustration and miscommunications. Also, you may speak before you think, resulting in hurtful words and unnecessary arguments.

Essential oils – sandalwood, rosemary, peppermint, basil, and myrrh.

READ MORE: 50+ Foods to Activate and Balance Your Chakras

#6 Third Eye ChakraThird Eye Chakra 1122323

The third eye chakra is located right between the eyebrows on the forehead. Also known as Ajna chakra, it is the center for visions, intuition, and clairvoyance.

When your Ajna chakra is open, you may experience an enhanced ability to problem solve, a clearer mind, a better ability to focus, and a greater intuition.

An imbalance Ajna chakra can result in feeling stuck in a rut without seeing beyond your problems. Additionally, you may feel that you are disconnected from your inner wisdom.

Essential oils – clary sage, thyme, helichrysum, juniper, and rosemary.

READ MORE: 12 Reasons You Have Negative Energy

#7 Crown ChakraCrown Chakra FACTS 1111

The crown chakra, also referred to as Sahasrara chakra, is the source of the energy we use to achieve our purest joy and bliss and tap into both our outer and inner beauty. It is our highest point of spiritual connection and our purest place of personal consciousness.

If your energies move into the crown chakra, you become ecstatic beyond all reason.

When Sahasrara chakra is imbalanced, it can result in a fanatical attachment to the area of spirituality, disconnection to the universe or faith, or having a closed mind.

Essential oils – neroli, rose, jasmine, rosewood, and frankincense.

Important Note

Some essential oils, including all citrus oils, coriander, and ginger, may harm your skin if applied topically and worn in the sun. Therefore, use them indoors only.

Images credit – Shutterstock & Getty

READ THIS NEXT: 14 Ways To Remove Negative Energy From Your House