Skip to Content

Chakra Foods: 50+ Foods to Activate and Balance Your Chakras

There are seven main chakras in the body, and each one is thought to be a center of spiritual power or energy.

The seven chakras regulate the flow of energy throughout the body and they are connected to different organs and glands in the human body. Also, each energy center has an associated mantra and color.

Moreover, these chakras represent an intense connection between your mind and your body. It has been proven that individuals who live their lives in a spiritual way and cultivate their seven chakras are more successful and happier.

Note – if even one main chakra is too close or too open they will not allow the energy to flow through them correctly. For this reason, the individual’s soul will not be able to grow in understanding and maturity until the person has sorted out the problems concerning the imbalanced chakras.

There are many methods to balance your chakras, but diet is probably the easiest one.

Here Is A List Of Foods For the 7 Chakras:

#1 Root Chakra (Muladhara)Root or Muladhara Chakra

This chakra is also known as Base Chakra due to its location, which is at the base of the spine.

Your earliest memories are stored here, including whether or not your basic needs (like proper nutrition, stable living environment, security, sensitivity, and love) were met.

It is represented by the color red, and it is commonly the first one to suffer a hit if anything goes wrong with the body’s systems. It governs areas such as – sexual organs, intestines, and kidneys.

If there is an imbalance in the Muladhara chakra you may experience fears, anxiety disorders, or nightmares. 

When Muladhara chakra is underactive, it means that you are feeling weak, tired, or unmotivated. Additionally, you can be feeling pain in your lower back or your legs.

Being out of balance in your base chakra can also lead to feelings of restlessness since it constricts the flow of energy throughout the body.

Foods – strawberries, tomatoes, beets, pomegranates, cherries, red apples, watermelons, and raspberries.

#2 Sacral Chakra (Svadhistana)Sacral or Svadhisthana Chakra

Located at the pelvic area, Svadhistana chakra is associated with creativity, sensuality, pleasure, and emotions. Within the human body, this chakra impacts several organs and glands, including the lymphatic system, the bladder, pelvis, the large intestine, and the female reproductive organs, and it is connected with our sense of taste.

If you have a balanced Svadhistana chakra, you are comfortable with intimacy/sharing with others, have a healthy relationship with your sexuality, and thoroughly enjoy life’s pleasures. Also, you have a zest for life, are joyous, and actively explore your creativity.

Blockages of the sacral chakra are indicated by sexual inhibition mostly due to societal conditioning.

Foods – mangoes, mandarins, oranges, sweet potatoes, carrots, turmeric, pumpkin, squash, and persimmons.

READ MORE: Ways To Remove Negative Energy From Your House

#3 Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The solar plexus chakra, also known as Manipura chakra, relates to the color yellow and is symbolized by a lotus with 10 petals. This chakra is found in the upper abdomen, in your stomach area.

The chakra is known to supply nutritive yet subtle energy to most of the main organs of digestion and purification that include the pancreas, stomach, gall bladder, liver, spleen, lumbar vertebrae, adrenals, and the general digestive system.

Manipura chakra’s meaning relates to self-esteem, self-confidence, personal power, ego, clarity, self-worth, and creativity.

An imbalanced Manipura chakra will manifest as low self-esteem, a sense of powerlessness, and a lack of confidence.

Foods – bananas, yellow peppers, pineapple, yellow squash, yellow lentils, cantaloupe, passion fruit, sweetcorn, peaches, nectarines, and oats.

READ MORE: Signs You’re An Old Soul Though You Don’t Appear To Be

#4 Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The fourth chakra is located in the low center of the chest and symbolizes love and self-acceptance.

On the emotional level, Anahata chakra imbalances may manifest as selfishness, over sacrificing, or lack of compassion. On the physical level, the fourth chakra is associated with the lungs, immune system, cardiovascular system, and upper body muscular system.

A closed Anahata chakra can give way to anger, jealousy, grief, fear of betrayal, and hatred toward yourself and others, particularly in the form of holding a grudge against someone or something.

Foods – kale, broccoli, avocados, cabbage, zucchini, chard, limes, parsley, basil, mung beans, arugula, green apples, kiwis, and spirulina.

READ MORE: Indoor Plants That Create Positive Energy In Your Home

#5 Throat Chakra (Vishudha)Throat or Vishudda Chakra

The fifth chakra is the energy center of self-expression and communication.

When Vishudha chakra is balanced you can express the truth and you have the ability to express your feelings and to speak for yourself.

When Vishudha chakra is not balanced you may be afraid of success, feel non-assertive, or go the opposite way and be egotistical. Some physical symptoms may include blurred vision, blindness, headaches, and eyestrain.

Foods – figs, blueberries, purple potatoes, and red cabbage.

READ MORE: 20 Spiritually Inclined Celebrities

#6 Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)Trataka Meditation of the Third Eye (aka Ajna Chakra)

Ajna chakra is located just between one’s eyes, in the lower part of the forehead. It enables human beings to see the bigger picture by imagining things. Ajna chakra’s color is brilliant indigo and it grants us the capacity to enhance our intuition and other similar gifts.

Growth, intuition, clarity, stillness, and openness are the qualities that exist in a balanced Ajna chakra. Also, when in balance, you will feel completely in tune with the energetic and physical world.

If your Ajna chakra is overactive, you cannot trust your “gut feelings” and you may feel as if your intuition is off. Furthermore, you may begin to feel stuck and in an emotional rut, becoming closed off to new ideas.

Because of its ties to transcendence, the best approach to aligning Ajna chakra is chakra meditation.

Foods – purple grapes, plums, purple kale, eggplant, poppy seeds, and walnuts.

READ MORE: Signs You Need To Clear Negative Energy From Yourself

#7 Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The chakra is located either at the top of the head or above it and is also known as the thousand-petal lotus. Considered to be the most important of all the chakras, Sahasrara Chakra honors spiritual connectedness.

It represents the ability to be fully connected to spirit and other people, enlightenment, consciousness, ecstasy, wisdom, self-realization, and bliss. It is associated with the brain, the hypothalamus, the pituitary gland, and the nervous system.

When the crown chakra is open, you may feel more flexible, unruffled by setbacks, understanding of the ebb and flow of life, and have a clearer ability to see things as they are.

When Sahasrara chakra is underactive, you may feel uncoordinated, clumsy, out of step, uninspired, or rigid in your thinking.

Foods – garlic, ginger, mushrooms, lychee, onion, coconut, chia seeds, and sesame seeds.

Images credit – Shutterstock

READ THIS NEXT: Spiritual Meaning Of Pink Full Moon

Angela Matthews

Friday 29th of January 2021

Found this information interesting, would be interested in learning more. Thank you