Skip to Content

The Secret 13 Chakra System – A Complete Guide

What is The Secret 13 Chakra System?

The 13-chakra system is an expanded energy model that includes traditional seven chakras plus six additional ones for deeper spiritual understanding. These are: Earth Star (connection to Earth), Root (our foundation), Sacral (emotions, creativity), Solar Plexus (self-esteem), Heart (love, joy), Higher Heart (compassion, healing), Throat (communication), Lalana (energy filter), Third Eye (intuition), Soma (spiritual guidance), Crown (enlightenment), Soul Star (universal connection), and Stellar Gateway (cosmic portal).

Chakras are energetic centers within the subtle body of every human.

The subtle body is where your energy flows, which is why it’s also referred to as the energy or auric body.

Probably the most important knowledge about energy centers comes to us from the ancient practice of yoga, which identifies the chakra model as a circular system of energy.

Each chakra has its basic color that can be visualized in meditation.

These colors can be used to balance the function of the chakras.

They also play an important role in certain types of medicine. For instance, acupuncture and other types of oriental medicine use the subtle body to promote healing and to help regulate all the organ functions and emotions.

The 13 chakra system and their meaning:

The 13 chakra system includes the 7 main chakra system plus some additional chakras.

#1 Earth Star Chakra

Earth Star Chakra (it is not within the actual physical body but is part of the etheric body) is located about 12 to 18 inches below your feet.

It is a chakra of oneness that is connected to the Earth.

#2 Root or Muladhara ChakraRoot or Muladhara Chakra

Muladhara chakra is located at the base of our spine, and any activity that makes one more aware of the body will strengthen this chakra.

The root chakra provides the foundation on which we build our life.

#3 Sacral or Svadhisthana ChakraSacral or Svadhisthana Chakra

The word “svadhisthana” can be translated as “the dwelling place of the self,” and it is the energy center associated with the emotional body, creativity, and sensuality.

Its symbol is a crescent moon, representing the womb and femininity.

#4 Solar Plexus or Manipura ChakraSolar Plexus or Manipura Chakra

The Solar Plexus chakra is located between the navel and the bottom of the sternum.

Manipura chakra governs our instincts, self-esteem, gut, body heat, and personal power.

#5 Heart or Anahata ChakraHeart or Anahata Chakra

The Heart chakra is located in the center of the chest, near the heart. In the body, this chakra is associated with the hands, heart, arms, and thymus gland.

On an emotional level, the Anahata chakra governs love, wisdom, compassion, hope, trust, forgiveness, emotional stability, empowerment, and healing.

Being in the middle of the traditional seven chakra system, it is also called the harmonizer and mediator between the body and mind and the lower and higher elements of being.

READ MORE: Ways To Remove Negative Energy From Your House

#6 Higher Heart or Thymus Chakra

The high heart is associated with the thymus gland (this gland is most active in children, reaching its peak at puberty), located in the upper anterior part of your chest, nestled between your lungs, and directly behind your sternum.

This chakra is the seat of compassion, unconditional love, empathy, joy, patience, peace, serenity, peace, balanced emotions, and harmony.

#7 Throat or Vishudda ChakraThroat or Vishudda Chakra

Vishuddha chakra, also known as the communication, will, and purification center, is located in the throat. This energy vortex governs our creative expression and speech in the world.

Furthermore, the throat chakra governs our ability to speak the truth, to express ourselves, and to create.

When the Vishudda chakra functions correctly, it metabolizes and unifies the wisdom of the Ajna chakra and the compassion of the Anahata chakra.

READ MORE: 33 Types of Meditation

#8 Lalana or Talu Chakra

Lalana chakra is located approximately two inches above the throat chakra, in the area behind the uvula.

This energy center is portrayed in the yoga tradition as the secret chakra taught by spiritual teachers to their disciples.

#9 Third Eye or Ajna Chakrathird eye man

The third eye chakra, located on the forehead, between the eyebrows, is represented by a violet lotus with two petals.

On a physical level, Ajna chakra (meaning ‘to perceive and command’) is usually associated with the pineal gland, a small endocrine gland in the brain, and with some important organs, like the brain and the eyes.

It also keeps the sinuses healthy. On a spiritual level, the Ajna chakra is responsible for your extrasensory perception, goals, ideas, and dreams.

READ MORE: Best Meditation Apps

#10 Soma Chakra

This chakra is located close to the Crown chakra, just above the third eye chakra. Soma chakra is responsible for our spiritual guidance and our connection to the angelic realms.

#11 Crown or Sahasrara ChakraCrown or Sahasrara Chakra

The crown chakra is located just above the top of the head. The Sahasrara chakra is often depicted as a thousand-petalled lotus, and it is said to be the most powerful of all the chakras. 

Sahasrara chakra is the chakra of consciousness and controls how we respond to the world around us and how we think.

In addition, in this energy center, one attains the highest levels of enlightenment and consciousness.

Opening the Sahasrara chakra brings mindfulness, spiritual insight, and the capacity to live with quiet self-confidence in all aspects of life.

When the Sahasrara chakra is out of balance, we may feel disconnected from our spirituality, confused about our purpose in life, or lost in a sea of negative thoughts.

READ MORE: Sacred Mountains Where You Can Find Yourself

#12 Soul Star Chakra

The Soul Star chakra, also called the seat of the soul, is located above our physical body. This chakra links one to the higher transpersonal chakras via the stellar gateway, which is above that.

More importantly, this chakra is all about letting go and allowing Divine energy to fill your life.

#13 Stellar Gateway Chakra

When this chakra is activated, it becomes the direct line to the Divine Source.

This chakra is the connection with the Universe’s energy system of wholeness, allowing a complete connection with enlightened beings and offering an open doorway to explore other spiritual realms and worlds.

Images credit – Shutterstock

READ THIS NEXT: What Everybody Ought To Know About Lucid Dreaming Meditation