11 Powerful Mudras And Their Meanings

A mudra is a hand position that balances energy in the mind and body.

The Sanskrit word “mudra” is translated as a mark, seal, or gesture.

Mudras were created by ancient yogis to restore physical health, calm the mind, and optimize energy.

Mudras have been an integral part of many Buddhist and Hindu rituals. They are used extensively in meditation and yoga.

List Of 11 Powerful Mudras And Their Meanings:

#1 Shuni – Seal of Patience Shuni mudra - Seal of Patience

The name of this mudra comes from the Sanskrit word ”shunya,” meaning “openness,” “emptiness,” or “spaciousness.”

The Shuni mudra helps turn negative emotions into positive ones. Also, it encourages purity, wisdom, compassion, and understanding towards others and patience to fulfill one’s duties and responsibilities.

According to Ayurvedic medicine, Shuni mudra is effective to those with a dominant vata, which is the dosha (governing energy) linked with waste elimination and the nervous system.

How to do it – touch the tip of the middle finger to the thumb tip, while keeping the other 3 fingers straight and relaxed.

The thumb symbolizes divine nature and fire. The middle finger symbolizes the courage to hold responsibility and duty.

When both fingers are placed together it is meant to signify and encourage discernment, focus, patience, and discipline.

#2 Dhyana Dhyana mudra, also known as samadhi mudra or yoga mudra

Dhyana mudra, also known as samadhi mudra or yoga mudra, is thought to have been used by Shakyamuni Buddha throughout his life — most notably during the moment of his enlightenment under the Bodhi tree.

In addition, Dhyana mudra is believed to invoke a sense of calm – perfect for sitting in meditation or silent contemplation.

How to do it – put the left hand on the palm of the right hand, both of the thumbs are on the opposite each other, and the palm of the right hand is toward the sky. Furthermore, the top of the thumbnails touches together.

#3 Prana Prana mudra

Prana mudra is designed to increase vitality and activate the Muladhara chakra.

This energizes the physical body and awakens all the organs.

How to do it – the tips of the ring finger and little finger touch the tip of the thumb. The middle finger and index finger remain erect.

#4 Prithvi Prithvi mudra

The Prithvi mudra is so-called due to the fact that it helps to equalize the element of Prithvi (earth) within the physical body.

The practice of this mudra generates confidence, stability, and strength. It also strengthens the bones.

How to do it – the tips of the ring fingers are pressed to the tips of the thumbs on each hand. The other fingers are kept straight.

#5 Chinmaya Chinmaya mudra

The practice of this mudra is said to bring awareness to the physical body which helps in keeping the mind and body in excellent health. 

Chinmaya Mudra is a simple hand gesture using the index finger and the thumb.

How to do it – bring the tips of the forefinger and thumb together and form a circle. After, curl the remaining fingers into the palms, and place the palms on your upper thighs.

#6 Buddhi – Seal Of Mental Clarity Buddhi Mudra - Seal Of Mental Clarity

Buddhi means intellect, hence the Buddhi mudra enhances mental clarity. Also, Buddhi mudra balances the water element of the body.

In traditional yogic practices, it is thought that Buddhi mudra helps us to increase concentration.

How to do it – the tip of the thumb and the tip of the little finger touch with light pressure, while the rest of the fingers remain extended.

#7 Prasanna

Practicing Prasanna mudra makes the hair healthy and lustrous. Also, it prevents hair loss and reduces graying.

Other benefits are:

  • treats dry and silky hair;
  • improves hair thickness;
  • strengthens hair;
  • stimulates hair regrowth;
  • prevents split hair.

How to do it – bring the hands near the chest and rub the nails of the 4 fingers with each other.

#8 Vayu Vayu mudra

Vayu mudra decreases the air element in the body. The air component of the body becomes decently equilibrated with the practice of Vayu mudra.

The air element represents the ability to move freely, effortlessly, and lightly, and is embodied in the breath, putting us in touch with the flow of energy (prana).

How to do it – place the tip of the index finger inside the base of the thumb. Then, the base of the thumb is slowly pressed into the tip of the finger.

Note – the rest of the fingers should all remain straight. Furthermore, this mudra should be done with both hands simultaneously.

#9 Gyan – Seal of Knowledge Gyan Mudra - Seal of Knowledge

It is a powerful mudra that is practiced for thousands of years by yogis. It brings calm, peace, and spiritual progress.

Also, the mudra empowers the mind, sharpens the brain, and improves the working of the endocrine system, nervous system, and pituitary gland.

Moreover, a regular practice of Gyan mudra brings spiritual openness and ease in meditation as well as it expands our field of possibilities and releases us from mental limitations.

How to do it – bring the tips of the index and thumb fingers together and form a circle. Keep the remaining fingers stretched and the palm facing upward.

READ MORE: An Overview of Yoga

#10 Apana Apana mudra

The Apana mudra is a powerful mudra for energizing the body.

It is also very effective in eliminating toxins and wastes from the internal organs of the body.

How to do it – bend the ring finger, the middle finger, and the thumb so that the tips of these fingers are touching.

Note – the little finger and index finger remain straight.

READ MORE: Yoga Poses For Knee Pain

#11 Surya Surya mudra

Surya means ”Sun” in Sanskrit and Surya mudra is known to increase the fire element (works like a catalyzer which boosts willpower against the yoga practices) in the physical body. In addition, Surya mudra decreases the earth element within the body.

In addition, it is thought that by practicing Surya mudra daily, you will be able to enjoy a healthy weight without hassle.

How to do it – bend both ring fingers and place their tips on the bases of the thumbs.

Note – Surya mudra can be done in any position you are comfortable with.

READ THIS NEXT: Yoga Poses For Lower Back Pain



9 thoughts on “11 Powerful Mudras And Their Meanings”

  1. Only comment I have is that each mudra has to be done for a certain period of time it would be useful for beginners if this information could be added I would have found it useful thanks xx

  2. Very nice and informative article .A query is that can one practise all these mudras even if he or she doesn’t know which chakra or element in their body needs to be increased or decreased?


Leave a Comment