Insight state

Lu Jong – The Five Elements Exercises

Lu Jong - The Five Elements Exercises

Lu Jong is a series of exercises, which are made from body movements mixed with rhythmic breathing.

Lu Jong comes from ancient Tibetan tradition of healing body movements.

These exercises are developed by monks from Bon tradition in Himalayan mountains and has been transmitted directly from Master to student, to this present day, primarily by means of oral teachings.

This is a simple practice that can be done by people of all ages and physical abilities.

It requires no particular background or beliefs. Yet, this simple practice can surely change your life.

Lu Jong meaning:

‘Lu’ means body in Tibetan and ‘Jong’ means transformation, training or practice.

Movement and breathing

Lu-Jong combines movement with form and breathing. It also removes blockages on physical, energetical and mental level. Specific movements of these exercises, accompanied by breathing, help unblock the physical body and the energy, starting a purification process of the chakras.

Similar to acupressure, these exercises releases pressure in certain parts of the body and clears the mind.

The movements of the 5 elements

They represent the earliest moves from the Tibetan Yoga. They are extremely simple to do, including by people who are not active and usually are not involved in any other kind of exercises. So, flexibility is not an issue.

It’s good to know that in Lu Jong there are no performance levels that need to be reached nor any competition with anybody, simply you can do your exercises at your own pace, as long as you can, without pushing the limits of your body.

Continuous movement of the body calms the mind, while we focus our attention inward. In other words, this is meditation in motion. Lu-Jong movements particularly pay attention to the spine, which represents the center of our energy. The spine is the base where all the organs, nerves and body parts are connected.

An organ disease will start as a result of a blockage in the corresponding point of the spine. Therefore, by using movements that touch the entire spine and gently massaging each vertebra, we strengthen all our internal organs.

Lu Jong benefits:

From the Tibetan medicine’s point of view, anything, including the body, is based on the five elements: space, earth, water, fire and wind. The three bodily humors, wind, bile and phlegm, are essential substances. Elements and humours must be in balance in order to maintain one’s health.

This series of movements gently works with the spine, the guardian of our being, and opens the body channels by releasing blockages and mobilizing misdirected energies. In this way, we can effectively combat disease, transform our negative emotions and increase our vitality.

Benefits of Lu Jong exercises explained by Tulku Lobsang:

“The Lu-Jong Level 1 practice is composed of 4 groups of movements, plus two additional exercises.

The first group, The Five Elements Movements, balance and purify the space, earth, wind, fire and water elements in the body. If the elements are in disharmony, diseases of the wind, bile and phlegm humors result, as well as the aggravation of negative emotions. Therefore, this group of movements addresses these issues.

The second group is The Five Body Parts Movements. These exercises improve the mobility of the head, joints, spine and hips. They open blockages and increase strength and the range of motion of the body.

The third group is The Five Vital Organs Movements. These exercises work with the kidneys, heart, lungs, spleen and liver. Practicing these movements improves the functioning of these organs by removing blockages in the channels that supply them with blood, oxygen, vital nutrients and energy.

The fourth group is The Six Conditions Movements. These exercises address common ailments such as indigestion, tumors, water retention, low body temperature, incontinence, depression and improve the five senses.

Finally, there are two side exercises that address difficulty falling asleep and difficulty remaining alert.”

Practicing Lu Jong:

Watch the video below.

Important Note:

These exercises should always be practiced as a group, in the order in which they are taught. It is not wise to pick just one or two of the exercises and practice them alone. Doing this, one will unknowingly create more imbalance and work counter to the aims of the practice.


Lu-jong exercises are the third type of exercises presented on our website, which involves body movements and specific breathing. Take a look on at Breathing ExercisesThe Five Tibetans RitesThe Yoga of Psychic HeatTsa Lung and Nine Purification Breaths. These exercises are part of life-long exercise and will increase the quality of your life.

These exercises are to be done every day, by any person. Physically, energetically and mentally the body regains its balance and, in time, with the help of these exercises, you’ll feel better, in good form and you will have a better health overall.

Start practicing now.

Image source – youtube.

Sharing is caring!

Insight State's Editorial

Insight State is a website for those who aspire to improve themselves and their life, as well as contribute to making the world a better place to live.

Add comment