Insight state

The Ashtamangala – The Eight Auspicious Symbols of Tibetan Buddhism

The Ashtamangala - The Eight Auspicious Symbols of Tibetan Buddhism

The Ashtamangala are a sacred group of Eight Auspicious Signs. These eight symbols are central to the study of Tibetan Buddhism. They are found all over Tibet and in exile communities.

In Buddhism, these eight symbols of good fortune express the offerings made by the gods to Buddha Shakyamuni immediately after he gained enlightenment. Each one represents one aspect of the Buddha’s teachings.

„Putting these eight auspicious signs around all over, outside and also inside the rooms, makes things very auspicious. It is not mandatory to put all 8 together, and they don’t all need to be in the same place.

They can be placed separately at distinct locations, but you should have all the symbols.” – Lama Zopa Rinpoche’s quote.

The Ashtamangala – The Eight Auspicious Symbols are as follows:

1.Conch Shell

The conch shell signifies the Dharma Jewel and teaches us that we should achieve the Dharma Jewel, the realizations of the stages of the path, within our mind.

2.Precious Parasol

The Precious Parasol signifies the beneficial activities of keeping beings from the harmful forces, harms of illness, obstacles and so forth. It also signifies the enjoyment of a feast of benefit under its cool shade.

3.Victory Banner

The Victory Banner signifies the victory of the Buddha’s teachings over ignorance, death, disharmony and all the negativity of this present world. It also signifies the victory of Buddhist doctrine over all pernicious and harmful forces.

4.Golden Fishes

The pair of fishes originated as an ancient pre-Buddhist symbol of the 2 main sacred rivers in India, the Yamuna and the Ganges. They are traditionally depicted in the form of carp, which are usually regarded in Asia as elegant due to their shape, size, and longevity.

5.Dharma WheelDharma Wheel

The Dharma Wheel or Golden Wheel signifies the auspiciousness of the turning of the precious wheel of Buddha’s doctrine, both in its realizations and teachings, in all realms and at all times, enabling sentient beings to experience the bliss of wholesome deeds and liberation.

6.Endless Knot

The Endless Knot (or Eternal Knot) Meaning in BuddhismThe Endless Knot is a geometric diagram which signifies the nature of reality where everything is interconnected and only exists as part of a web of negative and positive karma and its effect.

Having no beginning or end, it also signifies the infinite wisdom of the Buddha, and the union of wisdom and compassion. Also, it signifies the illusory character of time, and long life as it is endless.

7.Lotus Flowerlotus

The lotus is important in many Buddhist traditions and is one of Buddhism’s most recognizable symbols of enlightenment.

It signifies the complete purification of the defilements of the mind, speech and body, and the full blossoming of wholesome deeds in blissful supreme liberation.

In Buddhist art, a closed bud represents a time before enlightenment, while a fully blooming lotus flower signifies enlightenment. Also, the muddy waters represent the struggles of life.

8.Treasure Vase 

The Treasure Vase signifies an endless rain of long life, prosperity and wealth and all the benefits of this world and liberation. It is also known as the „vase of inexhaustible treasures and is a sign of the inexhaustible riches available in the Tibetan Buddhist teachings.

Sharing is caring!

YOU MIGHT LIKE  20 Celebrities On Finding Inner Peace & Love

Insight State's Editorial

Insight State is a website for those who aspire to improve themselves and their life, as well as contribute to making the world a better place to live.

Add comment